prevent staff from accidentally removing URLS from lots of items at once
If you edit a URL to correct something it will sync those values. But if you delete the URL accidentally, you can no longer find all the items that used to have that URL and are now blank.
I had a request from a professor that a link that had been synced in 2017 was incorrect and wanted the link changed back to the original. Of course, it is too late and I no longer have the old link available. If it were available in the history listing that would be helpful! Since all the links were updated, I wasn't able to go into the old courses to find the link either.